2-16-2011 Galactic @ The Cabooze

Known profusely for their knock down freak out all night until dawn live shows in New Orleans, Galactic brings this vibrant sexy firebrand of nocturnal funk everywhere including this very occasion.

That said, it was momentous joy for me to see & feel & dance to their music (in my hometown for now) at the Cabooze on the West Bank (my birthplace).

photo: Jesse Brodd

As you can ascertain from the set list, the boys brazenly blasted bombastically thru an energy ensconced 2 hour set.  Delivering with restless non-stop intensity.

My personal peaks that took me the highest were funkedified “Love Rears It’s Ugly Head”, “Give it up”, “Heart of Steel”, Chuck Carbo’s “Can I be your main squeeze”, instrumental “Boban”  & encores “Wild Man” (with Big Chief Bo Dollis channeled in) & Led Zep’s “How many more times”.  Other standouts were Swamp Dogg’s “Total Destruction to your mind” & tribal festival fare “Ooh Nah Nay”.

It was an added pleasure to visit with the band backstage as we’ve been friends for many years.  I enjoyed catching up with Jeff, Bobby & Stanton while relaxing & trading some adventurous tales.  I am already wildly anticipating my next Galactic sensory experience of future funk from the sultry deep south.

About timmythefreak

owner of Thunderfunk Press
This entry was posted in Live Music Scenery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2-16-2011 Galactic @ The Cabooze

  1. kim says:

    Great pics and article Timmy! I didn’t make it to the show; thanks for posting the hot details.

Leave a Reply

